- Grok 4.7 is not out. As of 5 September 2026 there is no SpaceXAI announcement, model card, API model id or price for it.
- The newest model in production is still Grok 4.6 (12 August 2026).
- The only date signal is Musk’s 2 September post, which points to mid September. That is an inference, not a date SpaceXAI committed to.
- The parameter counts and benchmark tables you will find online are invented. None of them trace back to SpaceXAI.
Has Grok 4.7 Been Released?
No. As of 5 September 2026, Grok 4.7 has not shipped.
This is easy to check yourself. SpaceXAI announces models on x.ai/news, and the most recent model announcement there is Grok 4.6, dated 12 August 2026. Everything published since then is Grok Bot and integration news, not a new model.
So for Grok 4.7 there is currently:
- No announcement page
- No model card
- No API model id
- No pricing
- No context window figure
- No official benchmark table
The One Date Signal
In a post on 2 September 2026, Musk suggested the next model was roughly ten days out. That is where the around 12 September estimate comes from.
Worth being precise about what that is:
- It is an inference, not a SpaceXAI commitment.
- It rests on a social media post, not a press release.
- SpaceXAI has let target dates slip on previous releases.
Mid September is a reasonable guess. It is not a date.
Be Careful With the Spec Tables
Search for Grok 4.7 and you will find detailed tables: parameter counts, context windows, benchmark scores, pricing. Almost all of it is made up.
The sites publishing this are content farms that stand up pages for unreleased models to claim search rankings early. SpaceXAI gave none of them data. The most widely repeated claim, “2.1 trillion parameters”, has no verifiable source behind it.
A simple test: check whether the number traces back to a page on x.ai. If it does not, it is a guess.
There is a second tell. Real model launches move the technical community immediately. Hacker News has not a single post about Grok 4.7 in the last 60 days.
What to Watch for at Launch
When Grok 4.7 lands, the baseline it gets measured against is Grok 4.6. Here is where that model stands, covered in full in our Grok 4.6 writeup :
| Spec | Grok 4.6 |
|---|---|
| Released | 12 August 2026 |
| Context window | 500,000 tokens |
| Input price | $2 per 1M tokens |
| Output price | $6 per 1M tokens |
| Reasoning tiers | low, medium, high, xhigh |
| Parameters | Not disclosed |
Note that on Grok 4.6 the rate doubles once a request goes past 200,000 tokens.
Three questions matter for 4.7: whether the price holds, whether the context window grows, and whether it closes the coding gap with GPT-6 Astra , which shipped two days ago and moved the bar at the top of the market.
We will update this page with real scores and pricing as soon as the model is out.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: When is Grok 4.7 coming out? A: There is no confirmed date. Based on Musk’s 2 September 2026 post, mid September, around 12 September, is the common estimate. SpaceXAI has not announced a date.
Q: Has Grok 4.7 been released? A: No. As of 5 September 2026 it has not shipped. SpaceXAI’s newest production model is Grok 4.6, released 12 August 2026.
Q: How many parameters does Grok 4.7 have? A: Unknown. The 2.1 trillion figure circulating online has no SpaceXAI source. SpaceXAI did not disclose a parameter count for Grok 4.6 either.
Q: How much will Grok 4.7 cost? A: Not announced. For reference, Grok 4.6 costs $2 per million input tokens and $6 per million output tokens.
Q: What will the Grok 4.7 context window be? A: Not announced. Grok 4.6 has a 500,000 token context window.
